NEBOSH General Certificate Trial

Current Status
Not Enrolled
Get Started

The NEBOSH National General Certificate is designed for anyone (Managers, supervisors and workers) in any type of organisation. It is ideal for anyone who needs a broad understanding of health and safety issues to be able to manage day-to-day risks effectively. Many people take the National General Certificate in Occupation Health and Safety (NGC) as a first step in a career in health and safety. It provides a valuable overview and is a sound basis for further professional study.


This qualification is made up of 11 elements and each element is then broken down into specific learning outcomes that wil lbe covered by the course:

Element 1: Why we should manage health and safety

Element 2: How health and safety management systems work and what they look like

Element 3: Managing risk – understanding people and processes

Element 4: Health and safety monitoring and measuring

Element 5: Physical and psychological health

Element 6: Musculoskeletal health

Element 7: Chemical and biological agents

Element 8: General workplace issues

Element 9: Work equipment

Element 10: Fire

Element 11: Electricity


Knowledge and understanding of the syllabus is assessed through one 2-hour written exam for Elements 1-4 and a practical assessment for Elements 5-11.